Mad for Plaid Cocoon Dress

cocoon4

Dress number two for little sister has been in my head since I made these dresses.  I snatched up this super rad plaid corduroy last Christmas and it sat waiting- destined to become a cool retro Heidi and Finn Cocoon Dress.

cocoon5

The shape of this dress gets me every time!  It’s just so dang cute!

I used a size 6 graded out to an 8 length and I love where it hits.

And you’ve got to have pockets!  These are done out of houndstooth for a bit of contrast.

cocoon11

This dress just screams Cindy Brady to me but we added some moto boots to make it a bit more modern.

cocoon2

cocoon6cocoon3

Don’t tell anyone but as much as I love my non-traditional dresses this one is my favorite by far.  When I made my last batch I vowed to make only Cocoon Dresses from here on out.  It is such a quick, satisfying sew that I really would make them ALL DAY LONG!  Such a darling dress in a quick amount of time.  I dare you to make just one!

cocoon8

I’ve got one more dress post for you tomorrow.  These cute sisters had a blast doing this shoot and I can’t wait to show you!  Are you sewing Christmas dresses?  Are you all about the pouf and pizazz or do you do simple and sweet?  Red and green or do you mix it up?  I’m loving seeing everyone’s dresses around the blog world!

Leave a Reply

