Sew Caroline Weekend Style

main

If you’ve been following me here for very long, you know my style is casual and comfortable but I still like to feel pulled together.  Sew Caroline’s newest book, Weekend Style, is exactly my cup of tea.  Weekend style, everyday style- it’s all the same to me!

weekend4

It was a happy mail day when my copy arrived!  I had the hardest time deciding which project to do first.  I knew I had to do the Tilly Tee- who’s closet couldn’t use a new basic Tee?!

weekend1

Caroline graciously sent me this cute knit I’d been crushing on (Corollas Ashen).  How perfect is it when you can sew up a designers pattern in her own fabric?!  It was meant to be!

weekend3

I couldn’t shake the desire to make an Afternoon Skirt to match so it just had to happen.  Luckily I popped over to Raspberry Creek Fabrics and grabbed this pretty chambray- it’s the perfect weight for this skirt!

weekend2

I’ve decided it’s called the Afternoon Skirt because you can easily sew it up in one quiet afternoon.  See how Caroline is speaking to me… stylish, quick and easy projects are heaven!

One of my favorite details of this skirt is the pockets.  They have a cute curved bottom and are nice and deep.  I have a little tip for you for when you go to iron the pocket edges under because it can be pretty tricky.  I like to make a cardstock template from my pocket pattern piece and cut it down to the correct size minus seam allowance.  I simply trace my pocket pattern piece onto cardstock and cut it out.  Then mark the 3/8″ seam allowance line all around and cut it off.  Now you can place your template on top of your pocket and fold your edges up around it to easily iron them in place.  Your template will really come in handy it you plan to use this pattern over again like I do!

One more tip- I will add a hook and eye closure above my top button and just below it also.  My waistband tended to gape a bit and it’s probably due to my lack of a waist and the fact that I did my top and bottom buttonholes horizontal just to be cool (don’t do it!).  A couple hidden closures will fix it up in no time!

weekend6

Here it is Thursday and I’m ready for the weekend!  I’m anxious to try out more of the projects in the book! I’ve got a pair of flip flops just waiting to be transformed into yoga band sandals.  And I could always use a new tote bag!  There are 15 easy projects- tees, skirts, a dress, accessories, so much good stuff!

This was one of my first experiences with a book that included all the patterns on a CD-ROM.  I can’t believe how easy it was to use!  I’m so used to tracing patterns from my Japanese pattern books and I think I loaded the patterns on my computer, printed them, put them together and cut them out in half the time it’d take me just to trace a pattern from the Japanese books.  Another point for Caroline!

weekend5

On a side note- tell me I’m not the only one to ever pull over AFTER a photo shoot to take even more pics just because the lighting was gorgeous!  These last three pics my cute 9-year-old was nice enough to take for me on our way home after my cool dad took the others.  Family members of bloggers have it rough, yo!

weekend7

But who can pass up an empty field and golden hour… hahaha!

book

Thanks so much Caroline for letting me join in the fun.  Make sure to follow the fun all month long!  You can grab your own copy here– you know you NEED it!

 

 

One thought on “Sew Caroline Weekend Style

Leave a Reply

