Watcha Wearin January Kids Style

waterfall2

As I was contemplating my second post for the Watcha Wearing January tour I knew I wanted to do it for kids clothes.  My closet is probably only about half handmade but my girls are close to 90% (I’ve yet to make jeans for them since I can pick them up for ten bucks and pj’s are about half rtw since they are just too darn cute!).  You guys see plenty of cute styled pics like the one above but I wanted to give you guys a glimpse into our reality.

I’d like to share what actually gets worn in our day to day.  I never really know what will be a favorite and what will sit on the hanger.  I always try to involve my kids when I sew and let them pick out fabrics and patterns and sometimes we hit the jackpot.  For pattern tests I usually ask which girl likes the pattern the most.  They have such different personalities that I’m getting pretty good at sewing for their own styles.  My boys are all about the comfort and I know I can’t go wrong with comfy pants, raglans, and hoodies.

A glimpse into our laundry baskets this week will find:

butterfly14

This velvet Andromeda Top has been worn at least once a week since I made it.  She has a matching one for her doll that is too cute too!

cocoon6

The Butterfly Cardigan is a new addition and both girls wear it whenever possible.  It’s just such a cozy layering piece!

payton2

The Miss Mary Mack (affl. link) from Love Notions is another top that this one wears constantly.  I really need to make her a few more.  I just love the yoke detail and all the fun options it has.

b2s13

This outfit of a Jolly Roger Raglan and Boxwood Joggers is his absolute favorite.  It’s comfy, warm and in his favorite colors so of course it’s worn as soon as it’s clean.

For a real dose of reality I grabbed pics of my kids if they happened to be in mama made this week.  They were usually taken after school or right after they woke up so they are lookin’ good!

Our Sunday looks:

You can find pretty pics and details on these here, here, and here.

After church casual:

Boxwood Joggers and a poncho I knit way before I even had a daughter (this is one of those things that kills me that she loves!).

School looks:

We have a super old Skipper Top, Baby bear joggers, Jolly Roger Raglan with cowl, Blair Top, and Hatteras Hoodie with Mini Hudson Pants.

It was fun to reflect on sewing for my kids and what makes something actually get worn.  What are your go-to patterns for your kids?  Anything that surprised you that they’ve fallen in love with?

Make sure to stop by all the other stops on the tour this week:

Save
Sunday, January 22nd: Sewing By Ti , Embrace Everyday

Monday, January 23rd: Sewing By Ti, Tenille’s Thread

Tuesday, January 24th: Robynne & the Bobbin, Harper + Lu

Wednesday, January 25th: Mahlica Designs

Thursday, January 26th: Sew Sophie Lynn, Creative Counselor, Crafty Like a Rox

Friday, January 27th: Everything Your Mama Made and More

Saturday January 28th: Sewingly Michelle, Sewing By Ti, Wild and Wanderful

Make sure you head over to Sewing by Ti to enter two HUGE giveaways!

5 thoughts on “Watcha Wearin January Kids Style

  1. I’ve been so selfish this week and have completely ignored my kids wears! I only feel a little bit guilty. 😉

    I’m always surprised at what they end up loving and what gets left behind.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.